Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS

for Wednesday, January 9 - equestrian
for Thursday, January 10 - pinata
for Friday, January 11 - pedestal
for Monday, January 14 - chaps
for Tuesday, January 15 - kilt
for Wednesday, January 16 - wampum
for Thursday, January 17 - attorney
for Friday, January 18 - wainscot
for Monday, January 21- Martin Luther King Day - NO SCHOOL
for Tuesday, January 22 - mukluk
for Wednesday, January 23 - chateau
for Thursday, January 24 - termite
for Friday, January 25 - hammock
for Monday, January 28 - jubilee
for Tuesday, January 29 - poultry
for Wednesday, January 30 - pavilion
for Thursday, January 31 - decoy
for Friday, February 1 - feline
for Monday, February 4 - NO SCHOOL In-Service and Conferences
for Tuesday, February 5 - barricade
for Wednesday, February 6 - a la mode
for Thursday, February 7 - dromedary
for Friday, February 8 - won ton
for Monday, February 11 - podiatrist
for Tuesday, February 12 - turret
for Wednesday, February 13 - farrier
for Thursday, February 14 - femur
for Friday, February 15 - joey
for Monday, February 18 - obi











Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments