Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS

for Wednesday, October 4 - petite
for Thursday, October 5 - a la carte
for Friday, October 6 - caricature
for Monday, October 9 - NO SCHOOL
for Tuesday, October 10 - porthole
for Wednesday, October 11 - oyster
for Thursday, October 12 - medallion
for Friday, October 13 - yucca
for Monday, October 16 - pantaloon
for Tuesday, October 17 - sombrero
for Wednesday, October 18 - parka
for Thursday, October 19 - paleontologist
for Friday, October 20 - Mardi Gras
for Monday, October 23 - NO SCHOOL
for Tuesday, October 24 - meteorologist
for Wednesday, October 25 - teleprompter
for Thursday, October 26 - quiver (arrow)
for Friday, October 27 - NO SCHOOL
for Monday, October 30 - seismograph
for Tuesday, October 31 - deciduous
for Wednesday, November 1 - arson
for Thursday, November 2 - cornucopia
for Friday, November 3 - chandelier
for Monday, November 6 - frock
for Tuesday, November 7 - kaleidoscope
for Wednesday, November 8 - Smithsonian Institution
for Thursday, November 9 - obi
for Friday, November 10 - Eiffel Tower
for Monday, November 13 - femur
for Tuesday, November 14 - praying mantis
for Wednesday, November 15 - pegasus









Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments