Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS



for Tuesday, March 10 - caldecott
for Wednesday, March 11 - scrimshaw
for Thursday, March 12 - pedestrian
for Friday, March 13 - NO SCHOOL - SPRING BREAK
for Monday, March 16 - garret
for Tuesday, March 17 - praying mantis
for Wednesday, March 18 - Emmy award
for Thursday, March 19 - stowaway
Friday, March 20 - NO SCHOOL - SPRING BREAK
for Monday, March 23 - medallion
for Tuesday, March 24 - kiosk
for Wednesday, March 25 - tangelo
for Thursday, March 26 - awning
for Friday, March 27 - cameo
for Monday, March 30 - piranha
for Tuesday, March 31 - shamrock
for Wednesday, April 1 - aardvark
for Thursday, April 2 - ruby
for Friday, April 3 - albino
for Monday, April 6 - transparent
Tuesday, April 7 - kinsfolk
Wednesday, April 8 - pandowdy
for Thursday, April 9 - green thumb
Friday, April 10-Monday, April 13 - NO SCHOOL
for Tuesday, April 14 - arson
for Wednesday, April 15 - Mardi Gras
for Thursday, April 16 - sayonara
for Friday, April 17 - snuffer
for Monday, April 20 - filet mignon




Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments