Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS



for Wednesday, September 4 - hacienda
for Thursday, September 5 - zamboni
for Friday, September 6 - rebus
for Monday, September 9 - disc jockey
for Tuesday, September 10 - heirloom
for Wednesday, September 11 - itinerary
for Thursday, September 12 - Clydesdale
for Friday, September 13 - vessel
for Monday, September 16 - dungaree
for Tuesday, September 17 - mirage
for Wednesday, September 18 - depot
for Thursday, September 19 - villain
for Friday, September 20 - canine
for Monday, September 23 - mannequin
for Tuesday, September 24 - rook
for Wednesday, September 25 - southpaw
for Thursday, September 26 - chalice
for Friday, September 27 - emcee
for Monday, September 30 - triptych
for Tuesday, October 1 - relic
for Wednesday, October 2 - marmalade
for Thursday, October 3 - synagogue
for Friday, October 4 - artichoke
for Monday, October 7 - zither
for Tuesday, October 8 - nomad
for Wednesday, October 9 - equestrian
for Thursday, October 10 - monogram
for Friday, October 11 - oasis
for Tuesday, October 15 - fez




Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments