Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS

for Monday, October 19 - protocol
for Tuesday, October 20 - tapestry
for Wednesday, October 21 - buccaneer
for Thursday, October 22 - newt
for Friday, October 23 - NO SCHOOL
for Monday, October 26 - oyster
for Tuesday, October 27 - porthole
for Wednesday, October 28 - caricature
for Thursday, October 29 - monocle
for Friday, October 30 - smorgasbord
for Monday, November 2 - wallaby
for Tuesday, November 3 - petite
for Wednesday, November 4 - paleontologist
for Thursday, November 5 - meteorologist
for Friday, November 6- condiment
for Monday, November 9 - teleprompter
for Tuesday, November 10 - kaleidoscope
for Wednesday, November 11 - locust
for Thursday, November 12 - quiver
for Friday, November 13 - deciduous
for Monday, November 16 - cornucopia
for Tuesday, November 17 - chandelier
for Wednesday, November 18 - mascot
for Thursday, November 19 - frock
for Friday, November 20 - avalanche
for Monday, November 23 - swindle
for Tuesday, November 24 - obi
November 25-27 -NO SCHOOL









Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments