Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS


for Thursday, September 27 - artichoke
for Friday, September 28 - synagogue
for Monday, October 1 - triptych
for Tuesday, October 2 - emcee
for Wednesday, October 3 - marmalade
for Thursday, October 4 - relic
for Friday, October 5 - chalice
for Monday, October 8 - NO SCHOOL
for Tuesday, October 9 - southpaw
for Wednesday, October 10 - Eiffel Tower
for Thursday, October 11 - rebus
for Friday, October 12 - valet
for Monday, October 15 - vessel
for Tuesday, October 16 - cumulus
for Wednesday, October 17 - tassel
for Thursday, October 18 - rendezvous
for Friday, October 19 - bustle
for Monday, October 22 - corridor
for Tuesday, October 23 - avocado
for Wednesday, October 24 - zamboni
for Thursday, October 25 - rickrack
for Friday, October 26 - NO SCHOOL
for Monday, October 29 - hibernate
for Tuesday, October 30 - bon voyage
for Wednesday, October 31 - grotesque
for Thursday, November 1 - stalactite
for Friday, November 2 - rookie
for Monday, November 5 - rook
for Tuesday, November 6 - mannequin
for Wednesday, November 7 - canine
for Thursday, November 8 - villain
for Friday, November 9 - depot
for Monday, November 12 - mirage
for Tuesday, November 13 - dungaree
for Wednesday, November 14 - Clydesdale
for Thursday, November 15 - itinerary
for Friday, November 16 - lazy susan
for Monday, November 19 - dynasty
for Tuesday, November 20 - loot
Wednesday, November 21-Friday, November 23 - NO SCHOOL
for Monday, November 26 - heirloom









Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments