Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS


for Friday, April 14 - NO SCHOOL - Good Friday
for Monday, April 17 - Easter Monday
for Tuesday, April 18 - shamrock
for Wednesday, April 19 - pedestrian
for Thursday, April 20 - stowaway
for Friday, April 21 - scrimshaw
for Monday, April 24 - Caldecott Award
for Tuesday, April 25 - No word - Testing today
for Wednesday, April 26 - No Word - Testing today
for Thursday, April 27 - No word - Testing today
for Friday, April 28 - pantaloon
for Monday, May 1 - heirloom
for Tuesday, May 2 - southpaw
for Wednesday, May 3 - chalice
for Thursday, May 4 - relic
for Friday, May 5 - sayonara
for Monday, May 8 - femur
for Tuesday, May 9 - slicker
for Wednesday, May 10 - pegasus
for Thursday, May 11 - candelabra
for Friday, May 12 - warden
for Monday, May 15 - jester
for Tuesday, May 16 - medal
for Wednesday, May 17 - goblet
for Thursday, May 18 - zither
for Friday, May 19 -mascot
for Monday, May 22 - No more word-a-days - Last week of school







Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments