Word-A-Day

 
 
 
UPCOMING WORDS

for Friday, April 6 - prehensile
for Monday, April 9 - knapsack
for Tuesday, April 10 - farrier
for Wednesday, April 11 - turret
for Thursday, April 12 - podiatrist
for Friday, April 13 - won ton
for Monday, April 16 - green thumb
for Tuesday, April 17 - dromedary
for Wednesday, April 18 - poultry
for Thursday, April 19 - a la mode
for Friday, April 20 - barricade
for Monday, April 23 - birds'-eye-view
for Tuesday, April 24 - Tiffany Lamp
for Wednesday, April 25 - feline
for Thursday, April 26 - decoy
for Friday, April 27 - pavilion
for Monday, April 30 - jubilee
for Tuesday, May 1 - hammock
for Wednesday, May 2 - termite
for Thursday, May 3 - chateau
for Friday, May 4 - mukluk
for Monday, May 7 - wainscot
for Tuesday, May 8 - attorney
for Wednesday, May 9 - renaissance
for Thursday, May 10 - insomnia
for Friday, May 11 - pedestal
for Monday, May 14 - pinata
for Tuesday, May 15 - pediment
for Wednesday, May 16 - flatware
Thursday and Friday - NO WORD-A-DAY
END OF YEAR -- HAVE A GREAT SUMMER











Word-A-Day Requirements
 

At the beginning of each school year your child will be required to come to school with a package of index cards. These cards are for completing their word-a-day. Your child will also need a plastic organizer for their index cards. This works very well to have a place to put all their word-a-day cards so they are not scattered all over in their desk. It is really nice if you the organizer comes with tabs to separate the cards.

Each night your child will come home with a new word of the day. I do not tell the children what the word means or how to pronounce the word. That is the main idea of the assignment. They must come the next day knowing what the word means and how to pronounce it. When describing the word to the class, they are able to use any resource that they can think of. They are only allowed to bring a definition once a week. The other days they can use clay to make a model, they can draw a picture, get a picture from the internet, or even bring in some object that relates to the word-a-day.

**This is an educational show and tell. Help your child each night to have a great word-a-day to share with his/her classmates.

 

 

Comments